Russia, Ukraine included in 12 new countries eligible for tourist visa on arrival – Inforial


Inforial (The Jakarta Post)

Jakarta ●
Thu, June 2, 2022



The Indonesian government has added 12 more countries to the list of countries eligible for visa on arrival for tourism (VoA), which previously included citizens from 60 countries.

The 12 new countries are Bahrain, Belarus, Bosnia, Kuwait, Egypt, Morocco, Oman, Peru, Russia, Serbia, Ukraine and Jordan.

With the new additions, citizens of 72 countries will be able to enter Indonesia through nine airports, 11 seaports and four border crossings, as stipulated in the General Directorate of Immigration Circular IMI-0603.GR.01.01/2022 on the sustainable tourism during COVID-19. pandemic.

Currently, there are no new additions to the list of countries subject to Visa Waiver Agreements for Tourism (VEAs).

The new policy comes into effect on May 30, with the Directorate General of Immigration number IMI-0584.GR.01.01/2022 previously issued on April 27 being revoked and declared invalid.

“This time, there are only 12 more countries, with no additions or changes to Immigration Border Control (TPI) with visa-on-arrival services,” explained Achmad Nur Saleh, Deputy Coordinator of public relations of the Directorate General of Immigration.

To obtain VEA or VoA, foreign nationals must present a passport still valid for at least six months, a return or transfer ticket to another country, proof of payment for the visa on arrival, as well as proof insurance from an insurance company with an Indonesian legal entity that includes health funding for the duration of their stay in Indonesia.

“The VoA tariff of Rp. 500,000 [US$34.36] is stipulated by Government Regulation No. 28/2019. The extension fee is the same at Rp 500,000. The residence permit from the VoA can only be extended once for a period of 30 days and carried out at the immigration office closest to the residence of the foreign national in Indonesia,” Ahmad explained.

Achmad also pointed out that visa on arrival or visa waiver agreements cannot be changed for other residence permits, and visa holders are not eligible to apply for a visa ashore. Foreign nationals as well as the tourism sector are required to comply with immigration regulations, with hotel owners or managers required to provide information or data regarding foreign guests to facilitate their monitoring.

“Foreign nationals who are proven to have abused their residence permit will be subject to immigration penalties. Likewise, if they have violated health protocols or disturbed public order, they will be subject to sanctions in accordance with applicable laws and regulations,” Achmad concluded.

The VEA or VoA can be used by foreign nationals for tourism purposes or to carry out government missions in international activities. For the latter, foreign nationals must also include the corresponding invitation letter as well as the documents mentioned above.

Countries and special regions whose citizens are eligible for visa on arrival for tourism

  • South Africa,
  • United States of America,
  • Saudi Arabia,
  • Argentina,
  • Australia,
  • Austria,
  • Bahrain
  • The Netherlands,
  • Belarus
  • Belgium,
  • bosnia
  • Brazil,
  • Brunei Darussalam,
  • Bulgaria,
  • Czech Republic,
  • Denmark,
  • Estonia,
  • The Philippines,
  • Finland,
  • Hongkong,
  • nail,
  • India,
  • English,
  • Ireland,
  • Italy,

  • Japan,
  • Germany,
  • Cambodia,
  • Canada,
  • South Korea,
  • Croatia,
  • Kuwait,
  • Laos,
  • Latvia,
  • Lithuania,
  • Luxemburg,
  • Malaysia,
  • Malta,
  • Morocco,
  • Mexico,
  • Egypt,
  • Burma,
  • Norway,
  • Oman,
  • France,
  • Peru,
  • Poland,
  • Portugal,
  • Qatar,
  • Romania,
  • Russia,

  • New Zealand,
  • Serbia,
  • Seychelles,
  • Singapore,
  • Cyprus,
  • Slovakia,
  • Slovenia,
  • Spain,
  • Sweden,
  • Swiss,
  • Taiwan,
  • Thailand,
  • East Timor,
  • China,
  • Tunisia,
  • Turkey,
  • United Arab Emirates,
  • Ukraine,
  • Vietnam,
  • Jordan,
  • Greece.

Designated immigration border control with VEA and VoA services:


  • Hang Nadim, Riau
  • Soekarno Hatta, DKI Jakarta,
  • Ngurah Rai, Bali,
  • Kualanamu, North Sumatra,
  • Juanda, East Java,
  • Hasanuddin, South Sulawesi,
  • Sam Ratulangi, North Sulawesi,
  • Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta,
  • Zainuddin Abdul Majid, West Nusa Tenggara


  • Benoa, Bali
  • Dumai, Riau
  • Nongsa Bahari Terminal, Riau,
  • Center of Batam, Riau,
  • Sekupang, Riau,
  • Citra Tri Tunas, Riau,
  • Marina Teluk Senimba, Riau,
  • Bandar Bentan Telani Lagoi, Riau,
  • Bandar Seri Udana Lobam, Riau,
  • Sri Bintan Pura, Riau,
  • Tanjung Balai Karimun, Riau

Border crossings:

  • Entikong, West Kalimantan,
  • Aruk, West Kalimantan,
  • Mota’ain, East Nusa Tenggara,
  • Tunon Taka, East Kalimantan.


Comments are closed.